How useful would knowing German or Japanese be for an EE?

• Thread starter jordainloves
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ee German
In summary, the conversation discussed how German is not very practical for an engineer to know, but it is a good language to know if you want to stay in California. Japanese is more practical because it is popular in the hi-tech industry. However, if you want to learn Japanese, you need a reason to justify the time investment.
jordainloves
Note: I learned German while I lived in Switzerland for 2 years. I'm studying to be an EE right now.

From your professional experience in the industry, would German be a very useful language to know? Is there much of a demand for bilingual engineers? From my experience in Switzerland, almost everyone involved in international business had great English. Do any of you actually do business with foreign companies? What is it like?

I want to stay in California after I graduate, but I wouldn't mind living in Germany either if I was well enough compensated for it. All I ever hear about German engineering is their cars.

How about Japanese? I would love to learn it, but there a tons of things that I would love to do. I want to know how practical it would be and how much I would be able to use it if I invest the time to study.

Are there other languages that would be more practical than either of these two? (I'm thinking Mandarin.)

Engineering news on Phys.org
IF you want to stay in California, the best language you could learn is Spanish. As for other languages, it really depends on the company you work for and the work you are doing, but chances are knowing a language like Japanese isn't going to do a lot for you unless you work in Japan.

Topher925 said: