Calculus: Applications of Trig

In summary, a wall of height 8 m stands parallel to and 27 m from a tall building. A ladder with its foot on the ground is to pass over the wall and lean on the building. The angle between the shortest such ladder and the ground will be 0.58800.
erik05
Hello all. I have a test on these type of questions coming up soon :grumpy: and this is about the time when frustration sets in since I'm not very good at these questions. If anyone could show me how to do them so I could study off it then you would be my hero.

1) A wall of height 8 m stands parallel to and 27 m from a tall building. A ladder with its foot on the ground is to pass over the wall and lean on the building. What angle will the shortest such ladder make with the ground? Ans: 0.58800

I think to get to the right answer, you have to end up with tanx= 2/3 and take the inverse to get 0.58800. Not quite sure how to get to that though.

2) A kite 40 m above the ground moves horizontally at the rate of 3 m/s. At what rate is the angle between the string and the horizontal decreasing when 80 m of string has been let out? Ans: 0.02 m/s

So far all I have is a triangle with a=40, b=x, c= 80 so cosØ= x/80. Taking the derivative: dx/dt= 80-sinØ dØ/dt. This was where I got stuck.

3) Two sides of a triangle are 6 and 8 metres in length. If the angle between them decreases at the rate of 0.035 rad/s, find the rate at which the area is decreasing when the angle between the sides of fixed length is [tex] \frac {\pi}{6} [/tex] ? Ans:0.727 m^2/min

Would the cosine law be involved in this to find dA/dt?

As you can see from my feeble attempts, I really suck at this. Any help with how to get the solutions would be much appreaciated. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org