Bases of vector spaces and change of basis

In summary, Nadir Jeevanjee's book "An Introduction to Tensors & Group Theory for Physicists" discusses how to make the basis of an ordered basis resemble the standard basis in a given vector space.
"Don't panic!"
Hi all,

Just doing a bit of personal study on vector spaces and wanted to clear up my understanding on the following. This is my description of what I'm trying to understand, is it along the right lines? (apologies in advance, I am a physicist, not a pure mathematician, so there are most probably errors in the mathematical formalism I've used below):Given an [itex]n[/itex]-dimensional vector space [itex]V[/itex] and an ordered basis [itex]E= \left[\mathbf{v}_{i}\right]_{i=1,2,\ldots ,n}[/itex], one can represent any vector [itex]\mathbf{v}\in V[/itex] with respect to this basis as a linear combination [tex]\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad \mathbf{v}=\sum_{i=1}^{n}a_{i}\mathbf{v}_{i}[/tex] where [itex]a_{i}[/itex] are the components of [itex]\mathbf{v}[/itex] with respect to the basis vectors [itex]\mathbf{v}_{i}[/itex].We can define an isomorphism between [itex]V[/itex] and [itex]\mathbb{R}^{n}[/itex], [itex]f:V\rightarrow\mathbb{R}^{n}[/itex] such that, with respect to the basis [itex]E[/itex]
[tex] \qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad \sum_{i=1}^{n}a_{i}\mathbf{v}_{i} \;\; \longmapsto \;\; \left(\begin{matrix}a_{1} \\ a_{2} \\ \vdots \\ a_{n}\end{matrix}\right)[/tex] Denoting this isomorphism as
[tex] \qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad \left[\mathbf{v}\right]_{E} = \left(\begin{matrix}a_{1} \\ a_{2} \\ \vdots \\ a_{n}\end{matrix}\right) [/tex] we observe that [tex] \qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad\qquad \left[\mathbf{v} +\mathbf{w} \right]_{E} = \left[\mathbf{v} \right]_{E} +\left[\mathbf{w} \right]_{E} \;\;\forall \,\mathbf{v},\mathbf{w} \in V[/tex] and