Research question about magnetic properties of iron

In summary, the person has been tasked with finding the permeability of iron at a frequency of 10 kHz. They have searched various sources on the internet but the lowest frequency they could find was at 30 kHz. They are unsure of how to proceed and apologize for possibly providing too much information. A suggestion is given to look at the values for 30 kHz and DC, and to try linear interpolation. It is also suggested to check with manufacturers for a graph of mu vs frequency in a catalog. Finally, it is mentioned that the 10 kHz value is likely very close to the 30 kHz value.
jparr007
Hello, I have recently been tasked with finding the permeability of iron at a frequency of 10 kHz. I have never done research before, this is my first time, I been looking all over the internet (IEEE, elsevier, ScienceDirect, etc...) for anything that might give me information on the subject. The lowest frequency I could find was at 30 kHz no less than that. I had never posted on a physics forum before, if I posted too much useless information or talked too much I am sorry. I do not know who to turn to for this research question.

Physics news on Phys.org
jparr007 said:
Hello, I have recently been tasked with finding the permeability of iron at a frequency of 10 kHz. I have never done research before, this is my first time, I been looking all over the internet (IEEE, elsevier, ScienceDirect, etc...) for anything that might give me information on the subject. The lowest frequency I could find was at 30 kHz no less than that. I had never posted on a physics forum before, if I posted too much useless information or talked too much I am sorry. I do not know who to turn to for this research question.

You're fine.