Self teaching basic computer science

In summary, the person is looking for a good beginning book to teach themselves computer science, specifically in the language C. They are recommended to start with a higher level language such as Python or Javascript if they want to learn programming, and to focus on understanding algorithms and data structures for computer science. A recommended book for this is "Code" by Charles Petzold. Another free online resource for learning is the textbook "How to Design Programs" which teaches programming in Scheme. For learning Smalltalk, the recommended resources are "Squeak by Example" and "Smalltalk by Example: the Developer's Guide" with the option to move on to "Object-Oriented Implementation of Numerical Methods" for a deeper understanding.
captain
I wanted to teach myself computer science, but I don't know any great beginning books that give a solid introduction. I am a complete novice. Could someone provide some names? I am trying to learn C. And is windows good for doing C or is another operating system more preferrable?

Appreciate the help thanks in advance.

On a sidenote: I wasn't sure where to put this whether it should be in the science book review since I am asking about a book or i the computer science section.

Physics news on Phys.org
C is very good for learning how computers work. If you want to simply learn to program to do stuff I would pick something a little more high level like python or javascript.

Computer science is completely different from programming and deals with things like algorithms and data at a much more abstract level.

It doesn't really count as computer science but one of the best intro computer books is 'code' by windows programming guru Charles Petzold.