How does Wavefront technology used in optics work?

In summary, A new member expresses interest in a wavefront technology used in progressive lenses. After visiting their optician, they were told that this technology corrects aberrations caused by the design of the lens. The optician could not explain how it works, leading the member to question its effectiveness and whether it is just a marketing tactic.
ikandi
Hi Everyone

I'm new to PF, interestng reading, great site :eek:)

I have a question relating to wavefront technology in optics.

I visited my optician and they tried to sell me one of the new generation progressive lenses made as free form technology. Free form technology I understand. However he told me the lens also incorporates Wavefront technology, this I do not understand and wanted to know more. I asked the optician to explain Wavefront technology.

In general, Wavefront technology corrects abberations caused by the design of the lens. My question is how are the abberations corrected?

Ikandi

Science news on Phys.org
Progressive lenses are simply bifocals (ie the top and bottom of the lens have different focal lengths) except instead of having a sudden line where the lens switches from one to another - they smoothly change the curvature over a small distance so you don't see a line. Slightly more complicated to make, but easy enough with CNC controlled tools.

The rest of the stuff is just marketing - it's like those fake chemistry sounding words they use to sell face cream.

mgb_phys, Thanks for your reply. I understand the concept of progressive lenses, aspheric over standard spheric and back surface free form over front surface molded lenses.

It's this concept of wavefront technology that troubles me. Opticians can tell me what it does but not how it does it :eek:)

Would I see more abberations without 'wavefront technology' or is it as you say marketing stuff?

1. What is Wavefront technology used for in optics?