Finding the centre of mass of a hemispherical shell

In summary, the conversation discusses methods for finding the center of mass of a hemispherical shell. The methods include expressing the area as a ratio of the total surface area and using cylindrical and spherical coordinates to find the center of mass. Another method involves projecting the area onto the curved surface of the hemisphere and using the uniform surface mass density of the hemisphere. Ultimately, all methods result in the center of mass being located at R/2.
clementc

Homework Statement

Hey everyone,
I'm studying for my physics and came across a question for the COM of a hemisphere. However, I was wondering what methods there are to find the COM of a hemispherical shell instead. Any insight would be very much appreciated! =)
After much of tearing Google apart in order to find a solution, I found 2, but was wondering if there were any more methods (I always like to find as many solutions as possible because it really helps me understand).

Homework Equations

I just learned integration in cylindrical and spherical coordinates, so I kinda know that:
[tex]x_\textrm {COM}=\frac{\int x dm}{\int dm} [/tex]
[tex]dA = r^2 \sin\theta\ d\theta\ d\phi [/tex]
[tex]dV = r^2 \sin\theta\ dr\ d\theta\ d\phi [/tex]
where [tex]\theta[/tex] is the polar angle, and [tex]\phi[/tex] is the angle about the equator (I learned it this way, but I think most people use [tex]\phi[/tex] as the polar angle instead)

The Attempt at a Solution

The 2 methods I found were:
1. Expressing dA as a ratio of the total SA, and this would be equal to the ratio of dm/M; i.e. that [tex]\frac{dA}{2\pi r^2} = \frac{dm}{M}[/tex] (OMG this TeXnology is so cool!)
ANYWAY so with this, you would be able to
  • find dm
  • find that [itex]z=r \cos \theta[/itex], where z is the axis passing through the apex and centre of the hemisphere.
and plug it all into the equation, giving R/2. YAY!