Advice for Italian Physics Student on Career Path

• Thread starter ITAphys88
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is an Italian student seeking advice on his career plan. He has a Bachelor's degree in Physics with research experience in micro/nanofabrication and is currently pursuing a Master's degree in Materials Science. He is considering a career in research, industry, or finance and is unsure whether to focus on computational or experimental work for his MSc thesis. He has a strong academic record, including top grades in high school and university, internships, bursaries, and other achievements. He also has strong skills in math, statistics, and computers, as well as proficiency in English and French. He is wondering if his CV is strong enough to be accepted into top-tier universities for graduate school.
ITAphys88
Hi everybody,

i am an Italian student who's seeking some advice in order to evaluate in a proper way his career plan for the future.

I have a Bachelor in Physics, 110 out of 110 summa cum laude (the highest grade with praise)
with a research experience in micro/nanofabrication at probably the most important italian research center on the topic, IOM- CNR.
I am currently working towards a Msc in Materials Science (in Milan) and i expect to graduate next year (around october) with 110/110 summa cum laude (my exam grades are really really good).

Granted that i seriously need to expatriate from Italy (which is a mess, no funds for research and development, no funds for schools, a stupid government and a horrible economy with 30% youth unemployment and low salaries), I'm still trying to figure out if i want to be a researcher or not (working in the industry or in finance).

my Msc thesis (during 9 months) is going to be about nanoelectronics or spintronics devices, but i have not decided yet if it's going to be computational (i have strong maths/statistics/computational skills) or experimental (as my Bsc thesis was).