For the first time I'm seriously considering suicide.

• Thread starter tribdog
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary, the conversation involved the speaker, who had been collecting sports cards for 15-20 years, purchasing a box of cards at a garage sale for $20. The box contained a valuable Michael Jordan rookie card worth $400-800, which the speaker framed. The speaker also met Jon Moreno, who had a brother that collected sports cards and was interested in purchasing the Jordan card for his brother. After some negotiation, the speaker agreed to sell the card for $300 and later sold the rest of the series for an additional $300-400. However, a year later, the speaker was arrested for cashing fraudulent checks given to him by Jon. The speaker spent two weeks in jail and lost his job as a result.
tribdog
I've been collecting sports cards for about 15 or 20 years. I was at a garage sale 3 or 4 years ago and bought a big box full of cards. I think I paid around twenty dollars for the box full. Most of the cards weren’t worth anything, but there were a bunch of ’86-’87 Fleer Basketball cards. One of them was Michael Jordan’s rookie card, worth between $400-800. Every card in this series is worth at least a dollar and most are quite a bit more because nobody made basketball cards for several years and this was the first set so there were a lot of rookie cards. I framed the Jordan rookie and put the rest into a nice folder with individual sleeves for each card.
Jon Moreno was a man who had grown up and gone to school with my girlfriend at the time. I didn’t know him that well, but I had met him quite a few times and my girlfriend had brought him inside our apartment. One day he saw the Jordan card and I took it down and showed it to him. He said he had a brother who collected sports cards too. He said his brother even had his own card. His brother had been a star on the ASU baseball team but hadn’t gone pro and now he was a college coach and professor.