How is LaTeX implemented on this site?

• LaTeX
  • Thread starter DivGradCurl
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Latex
In summary, the person is designing a website where they plan to post notes from their studies and wants to know how to implement LaTeX for displaying equations. They have considered using latex2html but prefer a different approach. They are also working on a flash website. Suggestions for implementing LaTeX include learning PHP or using a desktop math typesetting program to create images. Another option is to write notes in TeX and post them as PDFs. This forum uses custom-written PHP to convert LaTeX code into images for display.
DivGradCurl
I'm designing my website, where I plan to put up notes of whatever I'm studying. Since it would be really nice to place ideas as I do here at physicsforums.com, my question is: how do I implement LaTeX in my site?

I've read about latex2html, but it is not really the approach I intend to follow. Hopefully, there are other ways. I'm working on a flash website.

Any suggestion is highly appreciated.
:smile:

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
[itex]\pi[/itex]
Look at the source for this post

It's probably just a script that's called from the post-parser that runs the latex "code" and saves it as a png file.

Last edited:
Thanks for your input. Well, it sounds like I got to learn PHP to do all of this... right?

Last edited:
thiago_j said:
Thanks for your input. Well, it sounds like I got to learn PHP to do all of this... right?

An alternative to using server-side scripting is using a desktop math typesetting program like MathType to create images. I believe you have to register that particular program after 30 days, but I am sure there are other programs out there that are free. :smile:

You ought to just write your notes in TeX and put pdfs on your site. That'd be the easiest route.