DFT/hartree Fock calculations

In summary, a person named jacone asked for good references on computational modeling for heterogeneous catalysis and what software they would need for this. They received a response from user Eugene, who recommended some articles and the GAUSSIAN package, but mentioned it is not free. Eugene also suggested that jacone should have a solid understanding of quantum mechanics before proceeding with modeling reactions on oxide surfaces. Another user, Deepak Thakur, asked about using Gaussian for adsorption studies and received a response from user Alxm/Prof. Eugene, who recommended that they should know the methods and limitations before proceeding. Deepak also requested URLs for the articles mentioned earlier, which can be found on Eugene's website.
jacone
I have been working on experimental heterogeneous catalysis for a couple of years, specifically with metal oxides. I would like to learn computational modeling on heterogeneous catalysis (e.g hydrogen abstraction on acetone). I actually have no background on computaional calculations. What good references do you think might be useful to start with this? What software do I need for this? Are any of this reliable and free?

Physics news on Phys.org
jacone said:
I have been working on experimental heterogeneous catalysis for a couple of years, specifically with metal oxides. I would like to learn computational modeling on heterogeneous catalysis (e.g hydrogen abstraction on acetone). I actually have no background on computaional calculations. What good references do you think might be useful to start with this? What software do I need for this? Are any of this reliable and free?

Hi jacone,

Welcome to the Forum! I used to work in this field 10 years ago. Some examples of my works should be close to your interests