What kinds of jobs with a Physics degree?

In summary, the main career choices for someone with a physics and engineering degree are programmer, science writer/journalist, analyst, teacher, sales for a technical industry, or space program participant.
Girlygeek
I'm currently set to major in Physics. I'll be starting my Junior year next Fall, so I have some decisions to make. Above all, I need to be employable. I'm not the brightest star in my class and am tired of being poor, so I'm definitely not going the Physicist route. Probably not Astrophysics, either, although that's what I'm really interested in.

So, what are the top career choices for someone with a Bachelor's or Master's in Physics? My school has a 5-year accelerated Masters program that I will likely be taking advantage of. I'm still not sure which branch of Physics I am most interested in. I just know I love learning about the way the universe works and the intricacy, order and chaos of it all. I'm also an excellent writer, have good people skills, and have a good work ethic.

Basically, I'm just still not sure exactly what I'm getting into and what options are out there. I don't really have the engineering mindset, and when my DH starts talking engineering my eyes gloss over. I would probably be a good programmer, as I am very logical and good at organizing, but it is rather boring and isolating to me. I've been doing receptionist work for years and I'm sick of being chained to a desk. I want a job with some variety.

Thanks for any input you all have.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think you're a pretty hot commodity. You're studying physics and engineering, so you have geek skills. You write well, so you have communication skills. You have worked as a receptionist, so you have people skills (I assume). It's kind of a rarity to find people that have all three.

Some ideas for you are:
programmer ->technical project manager->CTO
science writer/journalist
analyst
teacher
sales for a technical industry