What else are Electrical Engineers good for?

• Engineering
  • Thread starter teknoaxe
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electrical
In summary, the conversation revolves around an Electrical Engineer who has recently been laid off due to a revenue shortfall and is now looking for new job opportunities. They have moved to a new location with hopes of finding engineering companies hiring, but are facing fierce competition due to the influx of job seekers. The engineer is considering other options such as technical writing and power engineering, but is open to other career fields as well. The conversation also includes a suggestion to consider contract work in technical writing, which can be a lucrative option.
teknoaxe
Hey there all,

I'm an Electrical Engineer with two or three years (depending on how you look at my internships) of work experience. I was laid off from my last company in May due to a revenue shortfall. I used to live in California, but I moved just outside the Boston area to be closer to some family of mine, arrows were pointing to a resurgence in hiring and there are surrounding cities also with engineering companies.

The problem is that even though the job market may be warming up, there's still a big influx of people looking for work in the engineering fields. I'm finding myself in fierce competition with everyone else who's gotten the axe as well. And while people seem to be impressed with my qualifications, it also seems that companies latch on the very specific laundry lists of qualifications.

I'm trying to look at my options here. I suggested to a recruiter that for a short time we look for technical writing assignments as well. He didn't like the idea, stating that he didn't want to pigeonhole me in that career. But there's got to be other uses for my degree other than electrical engineering, right?

One option, buck electronics and get into power engineering. I've had two classes in this direction, so maybe that's an option.