Diagnosing Viral Infections: Exploring Molecular Biology Techniques

In summary, molecular biology is a branch of biology that studies the structure and function of biological molecules such as DNA, RNA, and proteins. Some common techniques in this field include PCR, gel electrophoresis, DNA sequencing, and cloning. These techniques are used to better understand the role of biological molecules in cellular processes and to develop treatments for diseases. When using molecular biology techniques, it is important to have proper training, maintain sterile conditions, and follow ethical guidelines for the use of living organisms in research.
charming86
hi
i'm a pharmacy student and need ur help please
i have an assignment with the title(diagnosis of viral infections using molecular biology techniques)
can u please give me useful websites on the subject
thanks a heap :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
Tip: look at the diagnostic tools used to detect HIV.

thanks iansmith
the problem is that the subject is general, i need more general info

What is molecular biology?

Molecular biology is a branch of biology that focuses on the study of the structure and function of biological molecules, including DNA, RNA, and proteins, and how they interact to carry out cellular processes.

What are some common molecular biology techniques?

Some common molecular biology techniques include polymerase chain reaction (PCR), gel electrophoresis, DNA sequencing, and cloning.

What is the purpose of using molecular biology techniques?

The purpose of using molecular biology techniques is to study and manipulate biological molecules in order to better understand their structure and function, as well as their role in various biological processes.

How are molecular biology techniques used in research?