Need some advice regarding apostol calculus volume 1

In summary, glb_lub is new to Apostol and is facing a problem in solving the exercises. He is unsure whether his proofs are legit.
glb_lub
Hello, I am new to doing mathematics of the type in Apostol. I wish to study analysis. Hence I have started with Apostol Calculus volume 1 so as to build my fundamentals.
I need a tip in solving the exercise problems which one encounters in first few chapters.

I am presently on the introductory chapter.

My query is, while proving a theorem such as :- 'there exists a real number z such that x < z < y for any arbitrary x , y' , is it ok to prove that z = (x + y)/2 meets the condition. Apostol never really makes use of '2' in his proofs upto this point. For this I will have to first prove that 2 > 1 , I think. Or should I stick with arbitrary real numbers such as 'a' .

This issue is also relevant while proving that there is an irrational between any two rationals.
Can I make use of √2 in such cases ? I will prove √2 is irrational and then proceed to make use of it and its reciprocal.

For a beginner level such as mine , are such proofs considered valid ? And at what level should one strive for elegance ?

I had browsed some analysis books in the past and I found they never make use of particular numbers such as '2' and '√2' and rather make use of general properties of the numbers involved.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey glb_lub and welcome to the forums.

The nature of the proofs in analysis type subjects are going to be things like proving convergence or proving things with norms, metrics and the like.

Like you were saying in your post, we will assume that we have structures of some sort (represented by some kind of set) where we will assume that the structure has certain conditions that have to be followed.