Maxwell's equations and spacetime

In summary, the theory of relativity is based on the principle that the physical universe is described by a single set of laws that apply in all directions. These laws are represented by the differential geometric equations of general relativity. The theory was developed by Albert Einstein, but he was not able to find a differential geometric representation of the physical universe that represented the Maxwell equations in a similar way that the curvature of spacetime in GR represents gravitation.
DarthMatter
Hi,

I'm just beginning to learn relativity, but I have a question about why gravity is so different from other forces of nature in GR. As a start, I read that Einstein tried to find a differential geometric representation of the physical universe which represents the Maxwell equations in a similar way that the curvature of spacetime in GR represents gravitation - but failed. Could someone elaborate on that, or point me to sources where I can read more about it?

Thanks in advance. :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
DarthMatter said:
I'm just beginning to learn relativity, but I have a question about why gravity is so different from other forces of nature in GR. As a start, I read that Einstein tried to find a differential geometric representation of the physical universe which represents the Maxwell equations in a similar way that the curvature of spacetime in GR represents gravitation - but failed. Could someone elaborate on that, or point me to sources where I can read more about it?
IMHO you'd be better off spending your time learning about correct theories rather than incorrect ones! :wink:

Try Googling 'Kaluza-Klein theory'. It goes some way towards this.

+1 for what Bill_K said.

Those alternate theories have long been discredited. Don't waste your time, at least not until you've mastered modern GR in all its g[l]ory detail. :biggrin: