Understanding BLDC Motor Control: Position, Speed, and Current

In summary, the Maxon E40 motor can be controlled with a PID controller, but torque and current are also propotional with the load.
bagavac
Hi guys,

I'm developing a BLDC motor controller with load. I've bought a Maxon E40 motor . But some things i can't figure out:

I want to control position, speed and current (torque). I use PID controller to do it. In the closed loop system the output of the speed controller should be input of current PID controller.

questions:

1) is this above true?

2) is it true that the torque and current are propotional also with the load?

example: If the torque constant is 2Nm/A and my load is 1Nm i need 0,5A to move the load? or is the torque constant only propotional on no loaded motor...?

btw: why is it needful to controll the current?

Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
BLDC motor in printer

I am studying about BLDC motor.
My teacher gave me a BLDC motor which is in printer machine.
however I don't how to control.
It has 11 unknown outputs.(its seems to be use HALL IC 4 pins)
I have some pic about my motor but i don't how to post.
If there is anyone knowing about it.give ur opinion.
Thanks you very much.

bldc motors are a bit complicated. there's some tutorial around the web explaining how BLDC's work. Last i work on it few months back, the current supplied controls the speed of the motor. current is controlled by chopping the driver or somewhat essentially shutting it on/off. i was using A3936.

a BLDC motor typically has 8 connector. 3 for each motor phase, 3 for hall sensor (1 sensor for each phase), 1 power supply Vcc for sensor, 1 gnd for sensor.