Field-related jobs for undergraduates

• Thread starter Tasell
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Jobs
In summary, the speaker is a Physics undergraduate in London looking for a field-related job to do during the holidays. They are unsure where to start and wonder if anyone has suggestions. Another person suggests looking into internships or co-op programs through the speaker's school.
Tasell
Hi, I'm currently a Physics undergraduate living in London. I'm thinking of finding a field-related job which I can do during the holidays to see how much I'm capable of doing. Does anyone have any suggestion where to start? Not many people would hire an undergraduate, right?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Tasell said:
Hi, I'm currently a Physics undergraduate living in London. I'm thinking of finding a field-related job which I do during the holidays to see how much I'm capable of doing. Does anyone have any suggestion where to start? Not many people would hire an undergraduate, right?

Yes, they're typically called interns. Check with your school for information on co-op programs.

CS

Hi there,

It's great to hear that you are interested in gaining hands-on experience in your field during your undergraduate studies. There are actually many opportunities for undergraduates to gain practical experience in their field, especially during the holidays.

One option is to look for internships or research assistant positions at universities or research institutions. These positions are often open to undergraduate students and can provide valuable experience in your field of study.

Another option is to reach out to companies or organizations in your field and inquire about part-time or temporary positions. Many companies are open to hiring undergraduate students, especially if they have relevant skills or experience.