Intel Interview - Process Engineering Position

In summary, the interviewee is nervous about the interview and is looking for advice on what to study for the technical interview. He has taken a course on fundamentals of solid state devices and is familiar with ultra high vacuum systems. He is also familiar with MBE, CVD, and other fabrication processes.
dorkwitch
Hi,

I have an onsite interview with Intel for a process engineering position. I believe this position is mainly for college graduates. I am graduating with a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering in May 2008. I am quite nervous about the interview and want to be as prepared as I can be, especially for the technical interview.

Since it is for a process engineering position, am assuming the emphasis is going to be on Solid State. But I have not taken a class on fabrication as such. So, I don't know what I should study for the interview.

Right now, I am studying my microelectronics circuits book by Sedra/Smith and plan on skimmng through Fundamentals of Solid State Devices book also.

Do you have any suggestions, and some advice on do's and dont's?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
It would be worth seeing if you could track down a copy of Jaeger's Introduction to Microelectronic Fabrication and at least skim through it before your interview. It's a nice, short book, so you should be able to pick up a lot of information from it very quickly. For a more standard textbook, look for Campbell's The Science and Engineering of Microelectronic Fabrication.

Thank you

Thank you so much, I will try to get hold of those books right away.

have you at least taken a course on solid state devices?

Obviously, since they are giving you an interview, they believe you are a good match for the position. Just go in there and be confident.

leright said:
have you at least taken a course on solid state devices?