How do I determine the volume of a revolved area using integrals?

In summary, the speaker is a calculus student struggling to understand how to find the volume of the area between two trigonometric functions when rotated around a vertical line. They are specifically struggling with setting up the integral and choosing which function is the outer radius and which is the inner radius. They also mention the difficulty of finding bounds due to the identical y coordinates. The expert summarizer provides a simplified example and suggests finding the integral of the absolute difference between the two functions.
Zach:D
Hello. I am a calculus student currently studying integrals. I am able to logically break down most problems, but I came to a breaking point today. I am trying to understand how to revolve the area between two trigonometric functions about a vertical line. The conditions I am trying to satisfy is when these functions form an area that is apparently symmetric and end on identical y coordinates. To simplify my question, I'll create an example.

Revolve the area enclosed by f(x) and g(x) about the line x= -1 on the interval [0, [tex]\pi[/tex]]
f(x) = sin(x)
g(x) = -sin(x)

I am having incredible difficulty merely setting up the integral. Clearly, I'll need something like this:

V = [tex]\pi[/tex] [tex]\int[/tex] ( something + 1)^2 - ( something + 1)^2 dy

I understand the concept of selecting f(y) and g(y) and subtracting the axis' x-coordinate, but I do not understand how to choose which one is an outer radius and which one is an inner radius. Additionally, because the points that they intersect at are identical, I am not sure what bounds to use without getting a bad answer (v=0). I appreciate your time and hope that you will forgive my English.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
To find area between two functions you have to find integral of module of differences of them.

But in current situation it's a bit easier: