Proof of limits with fraction

In summary, the limit of (x^n - a^n) / (x - a) when x tends to a is equal to n.a^(n-1), where n is a fraction. This can be proven by rewriting the expression and using the fact that the limit of x-a/x-a is equal to 1 when x tends to a.
joshua.sl
prove that limit of --- (x[tex]^{n}[/tex]-a[tex]^{n}[/tex])
---------- ---------------- (x-a)
when " x " tends to " a "

equals to ---- n.a[tex]^{n-1}[/tex] ----- ****where " n " is a fraction..

we have been given this and I've got no idea on how to prove it although i can do sums with this equation when " n " is a fraction

PS this is my first post and i have no experience in witing equations in posts ..sorry if I've done any mistakes.

Physics news on Phys.org
Proof: Let us consider the term (x^n - a^n) / (x - a).We can rewrite this expression in the form n.a^(n-1).(x-a/x-a). Now, since x tends to a, the limit of x-a/x-a is 1. Hence, the limit of (x^n - a^n) / (x - a) is equal to n.a^(n-1). Therefore, the limit of (x^n - a^n) / (x - a) when x tends to a is equal to n.a^(n-1), as desired.

1. What is the definition of a limit with fractions?

A limit with fractions is a mathematical concept that represents the value that a function approaches as its input approaches a specific value. It is denoted by the symbol "lim" and is typically written in the form of a fraction with the variable approaching a specific value.

2. How do you prove a limit with fractions?

To prove a limit with fractions, you must use the epsilon-delta definition of a limit. This involves choosing a value for epsilon, which represents the desired level of precision, and finding a corresponding value for delta, which represents the distance between the input and the desired limit value. If you can find a delta that satisfies the definition, then you have proven the limit with fractions.

3. What are some common strategies for proving limits with fractions?