Proving That a Group of Order 5 is Abelian

• Thread starter murshid_islam
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Group
In summary, the conversation discusses how to prove that a group of order 5 is Abelian, with suggestions to use Lagrange's Theorem and explore cyclic subgroups. It is mentioned that every group of prime order is cyclic and thus abelian. The concept of cosets is also brought up as a potential approach to proving the theorem.
murshid_islam
hi! i am new in abstract algebra.
how can i prove that a group of order 5 is Abelian?

thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you familiar with Lagrange's Theorem?

Start picking some elements and generating cyclic subgroups, see what happens. What happens with coprime group orders? (say, 6). What happens with prime ordered groups?

Every group of prime order is cyclic and thus abelian.

Would you prove it was cyclic by proving the fact that all subgroups generated by an element have the order n/(n,s)=n or 1, where s is the generator and n is the number of elements in the group?

The fact that its cyclic is trivial. Pick any element s (not the 1). And consider the group that it generates. It has to generate the whole group because otherwise it would generate a subgroup. But the order of a subgroup must divide the order of the group.Since only 1 and p divide p (if p is prime) it must generate the whole group. Thus 1 element generates the whole goup and by defenition this means the group is cyclic.

"The order of a subgroup must divide the order of the group"--what if one hasn't seen that before, is there an easy proof, besides the psuedo-method i proposed?

philosophking said:
"The order of a subgroup must divide the order of the group"--what if one hasn't seen that before, is there an easy proof, besides the psuedo-method i proposed?