Need a demonstration of constant motion and balanced forces

In summary, a high school physics teacher is looking for a way to demonstrate the concept of net force equaling zero when something is moving at a constant speed. They have tried using examples such as a parachutist, car, and airplane, but some students still struggle to understand. The teacher plans to do a demonstration using spring scales, masses, and pulleys to show balanced forces with an object at rest. They are also looking for ideas to demonstrate balanced forces with constant, uniform motion and are considering using a computer simulation or a sled or roller on a horizontal or inclined surface. However, the teacher is concerned that using different masses on the cart may confuse students. They also mention that all students are required to take physics, regardless of their
jamesnb
I'm a high school physics teacher and I need a way to demonstrate net force = zero when something is moving at a constant speed. Usually some get it right away, some don't care and a few just really can't get their mind around it. I tell them about the parachutist, their car going 60 mph in a straight line on a smooth road, and the airplane at level flight but some still insist more force needs to be applied to keep the airplane from falling out of the sky.
I'm doing a demonstration Monday which shows balanced forces with the object at rest using spring scales, masses and pulleys. I'm also doing accelerated motion with a motion detector, car, and a mass hanging over the table, tied to the car and the string going over a pulley. But I can't think of a way to show balanced forces with constant, uniform motion.
Any ideas? Even a computer simulation might help.

Physics news on Phys.org
jamesnb said:
...balanced forces with the object at rest using spring scales, masses and pulleys... But I can't think of a way to show balanced forces with constant, uniform motion.