Exploring Career Options in Research and Development: A Student's Perspective

In summary: There's a lot of pressure to produce results, and if you're not producing results, you're out. Teaching high school level would be a lot easier.
trollcast
Gold Member
I'm struggling to choose between degree courses (I'm in my last year of HS, well uk equivalent) but I've sort of realized where / what I'd want to do at the end of it. Out of all the people my parents know and from my work experience / university tours the only real careers I've seen and thought I'd be extremely content at doing was some sort of research orientated role, at the minute I can't say I'd really want to do research in a certain discipline but I'd be happy enough with the general idea of it.

Thats not to say I wouldn't take a different type of job if needs made it so but its the only type of career that I've seen that I could imagine feeling that I was actually doing something useful. The degrees I've sort of narrowed down to are physics, ee or mech eng and really I'm just sort of looking for a reality check for what I want to do and a bit of an idea of how to get there

Physics news on Phys.org
I guess it's just one data point but I have a Ph.D. in EE and I do research in scientific imaging. That's a broad field but what I work on is high-speed, radiation tolerant readout integrated circuits for stuff like electron microscopes and I am also working on a long-term project in implanted brain imagers. It's really exciting stuff and a very satisfying career. I work in an academic environment by the way.

Before that, I was in a couple of companies in the R&D department. In the USA at least, most company research is little r, big D, if you catch my drift. It was a lot of fun. I worked primarily on communications electronics, for projects like cellular basestations and optical data communications.