Can Quantum Error Correction Revolutionize Computing?

In summary, the conversation is about a final year student working on a dissertation on Quantum Error Correction. They are looking for good articles and ideas on the subject and have already looked at classical error correction. Suggestions are given on possible topics to cover, including the standard model, error correction codes, fault tolerance, and experimental implementations. The conversation also includes recommendations for further reading and methods for simulating quantum error correction on a classical computer. Finally, a question is asked about calculating the QER (Qbit Error Rate) for a given probability of error.
phmzk
Hello people,

Not sure if I'm posting in the right place, but I have read quite a few posts since joining and have to say this forum is of a very high standard, well done.

I'm a final year student working on my dissertation on Quantum Error Correction and was just wondering if anyone had any good articles or views on the subject. Also if anyone has any ideas about how to plan out a piece on this subject would be greatly appreciated. Currently my plan is to speak about how computers have developed to a stage where we've had to look at computing on a quantum level. Then a bit about Quantum world of physics to try and link the topics.

I've looked at classical error correction, and replicated a repetition code in excel. Any ideas about other codes I could try and produce and how to deal with them? Once classical error correction has been delt with how can I deal with quantum error correction? Any feedback/suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

Physics news on Phys.org
I have also written a dissertation on quantum error correction, although that was in graduate school, so maybe mine was more technical than yours has to be. As I see it, the main topics you could choose to cover are: