Where to find Microwave Radiation?

In summary, for a science fair project about radiation, a high school student with a microwave detector can test and record results from microwaves and cell phones. Other potential sources of microwave length radiation could include wireless routers, wi-fi antennas on laptops, cordless phones, bluetooth devices, and remote control devices. It may also be helpful to consult the Wikipedia page on microwaves for additional ideas and uses.
littlejeter36
I am a high school student and i am doing a science fair project about radiation. i have a microwave detector and i would like to know where i can find microwave length radiation so i can test and record results. I have tested microwaves and cell phones but i can't think of anything else. What else could i test?

Science news on Phys.org
littlejeter36 said:
I am a high school student and i am doing a science fair project about radiation. i have a microwave detector and i would like to know where i can find microwave length radiation so i can test and record results. I have tested microwaves and cell phones but i can't think of anything else. What else could i test?
Maybe wireless routers, wi-fi antennas on laptops.

Bob S

There are several frequencies in the microwave band that are unlicensed for short range use. Thus, many (most?) short range communication devices use microwaves. Besides what's been mentioned so far I can think of: Cordless phones, bluetooth, some remote control stuff. If you haven't checked already the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microwave" on microwaves has a lot of uses listed.

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is microwave radiation?

Microwave radiation is a type of electromagnetic radiation that falls within the spectrum of radio waves. It has a wavelength range of 1 mm to 1 m and is commonly used for communication and heating purposes.

2. Where can I find sources of microwave radiation?