Neutrinos: Partner of electrons?

In summary: Is the only non trivial situation. Of course both particles are neutral respect to colour.In summary, the electron neutrino behaves like an electron when subjected to weak interactions. It is from the same family as electrons.
Swapnil
I am new to these particles called neutrinos but I was wondering why are they called the "partners" of electrons?

Physics news on Phys.org
Massless or not, the electronic neutrino behaves like electrons when subject to weak interactions. They're from the same family.

Daniel.

More exactly, left neutrinos and left electrons are the two sides of a "weak isospin" doublet. Under the action of the W particle, one transforms into the another.

dextercioby said:
Massless or not, the electronic neutrino behaves like electrons when subject to weak interactions. They're from the same family.

Daniel.
So do neutrinos behave like electrons ONLY in the context of weak interactions? Are any other situations where they would behave the same?

Swapnil said:
So do neutrinos behave like electrons ONLY in the context of weak interactions? Are any other situations where they would behave the same?
Is the only non trivial situation. Of course both particles are neutral respect to colour.

Swapnil said:
I am new to these particles called neutrinos but I was wondering why are they called the "partners" of electrons?
In the standard model, leptons occur in three doublets. These are:
The electron and the "electron neutrino".
The muon and the "mu neutrino".
The tau and the "tau neutrino".
In each case, the first lepton in the pair, is negatively charged and much heavier than its neutral neutrino.

Meir Achuz said:
In the standard model, leptons occur in three doublets. These are:
The electron and the "electron neutrino".
The muon and the "mu neutrino".
The tau and the "tau neutrino".
In each case, the first lepton in the pair, is negatively charged and much heavier than its neutral neutrino.