Is It Worth Taking Multiple Math Classes for a Good Professor?

• Thread starter JonF
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary: I think that would be a better idea. You would only have 2 classes on top of the 50 hours.That sounds like a better plan.
JonF
My school teaches differential equations and linear algebra at the same time. And this upcoming semester is my favorite professors last semester teaching it for a pretty good while.

Do you guys think it is worth taking three math classes (calc3, de, la) at a time to have a good professor? If I wait on the DE/LA the professor I will take it with the semester after isn’t that good.

Physics news on Phys.org
oops meant to post in general math

When i was an undergrad i took 3 classes in one semester (linear alg,difEQ,real analysis) and i took 5 classes once as a grad student in one semester, so i would say go for it. Good teachers are hard to find.

How many classes do you plan to take total. I wouldn't take to many if you are going to take 3 math classes.

Among those 3 courses, I'd say that for Linear Algebra, it's nice to have a good teacher. Less so for Calc and DE.

Just my opinion.

those three, calc based physics and 50 hours of work a week

JonF said:

VERY BAD IDEA - do NOT do that ! :mad:

but 10 of those hours of work are as a math tutor...

so you say wait?

Pick one, (maybe two) courses. I strongly advise against taking 3 - you will do yourself a disservice by trying that. And yes, wait.

Yes definitely that sounds like its going to hurt you bad if you overload.

It depends on how hard you are willing to work. You could take all 3 classes. I have been taking 7 classes every semester since my sophmore year without any problems. If you can study hardcore for hours on end then you can do all 3.

usually it is foolish to take more than 2 math classes.

JonF said: