Diffusion Quanutm Montecarlo

• Thread starter Derivator
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Diffusion
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of Monte Carlo moves inspired by actual dynamics and the use of the propagator to simulate a Gaussian probability distribution. The initial density function used in the Monte Carlo integration is assumed to be arbitrary and the process is expected to converge towards equilibrium.
Derivator
Hi,

below, you will find an extract from a script.

One sentence is:

"Move these walkers according to the the Gaussian distribution ..." (you can find this on the second image)

My question:

Why is it obvious from formula (124) (the short time step proppagator) that we have to move the walkers according to the Gaussian distribution?

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/769/dqmc1.png

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/7313/dqmc2.png

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert in Monte Carlo moves that are inspired by actual dynamics. Anyways: The propagator (equation 128, not 124) gives you the probability that a particle which was at x at t=0 is at y at t=delta t. This is the dynamics you want to simulate. The propagator is a Gaussian in the spatial coordinates. So it seems very sensible to me to simulate this Gaussian probability distribution by using a Gaussian probability distribution for the move from x to a random new y (sidenote: you can also propose moves from a different probability distribution, but then you'd have to reject some of those proposals). The other factor in the propagator is treated in an extra step (I think missing sentence is "If q is greater than 1 the walker survives"), and in a less direct manner.
I'm not sure if I really understood your question, though. It seems a bit strange to ask why one simulates a Gaussian via a Gaussian (even though it is a good question once you dig a bit deeper), so maybe I missed your point.

Last edited:
Timo said: