Neural Connections: Memory, Learning & Inheritance

• Thread starter ramollari
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Neural
In summary, research shows that memory and learning is based on the values of weights that the neural synapses have. Learning involves the adjustment of the weights (strengths) of these synapses so that the reactions given to stimuli are adjusted as well. The process of re-wiring synapses is often influenced by environmental factors, such as nutrition.
ramollari
Research has shown that memory and learning is based on the values of weights that the neural synapses have. Learning involves the adjustment of the weights (strengths) of these synapses so that the reactions given to stimuli are adjusted as well.

But are all the correct values learned during one's life, or are they also inherited? How are the weights initialized when a baby is born?

Biology news on Phys.org
I am not an expert in neural connections, but I know that a spider has certain neural connections it has had genetically "wired" into its brain. A spider web is a very complicated structure, some strands are much thicker than others etc. But anyway it seems that the answer to your question is that everyone starts off with a similar but not identical neural connections. Inheritance of "intelligence" is obvious, we as humans pass on this ability to reason. However the approaches we take to reasoning can be learned and are obiviously very different then something essential like making a spider web, and so everyone starts off with almost the same chance.

Last edited:
"But are all the correct values learned during one's life, or are they also inherited? How are the weights initialized when a baby is born?" values?