FEMLAB-Exporting Data from Random Distribution of Points?

In summary, you can use the scripting interface to export data in various formats, including coordinates and data from a uniform distribution of points.
WashU
I am by no means an expert with FEM or FEMLAB. I am running some simple 2D axial symmetric models and would like to export displacement data for each of my subdomains. At the moment I am exporting in cooridnate & data form using a regular grid of points. However for my application the regular grid is not ideal and infact presents a problem. Is there a way to instruct FEMLAB to export coordinates & data from a uniform distribution of random points? Can I also make FEMLAB export more data from in areas with a more refined mesh and less data from areas where the mesh is less defined? Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated!

Computer science news on Phys.org
file->export->post processing data should provide you the means you require, for example for subdomains you can use nodal points of a post-processing mesh of what order you wish or then read the coordinates you want output from an external file, or then specify a regular grid of desired density. Defining new output variables and outputting them with desired number of points is a good way as well, and if you use the scripting interface you can do pretty much what you want.

Is there a place I can go for information on FEMLAB's scripting interface? I have the FEMLAB manual in paper form but it really doesn't provide a lot of information on data exporting.

...if I remember about right the improved export feature was part of release 3.2 and generalized the data export features quite a bit, before it was "somewhat" clumsy. Don't know of any online sources for the scripting interface, the scripting manual is probably the best source, although the Yahoo - Comsol group does from time to time treat problems related to Comsol scripts and the archive may contain some examples.