Need help building a Near Infrared Spectroscopy Device

In summary, the computer scientist wants to use NIRS to measure brain activity. He needs a detector and a fiberoptic cable to connect the detector to a computer. He is looking for general advice on how to build the device and problems he might face. Anyone interested in helping him build the device or designing it is welcome.
stanford
Hi,
I'm a computer scientist w/ very little hardware experience. I've been playing with the idea of using NIRS for a brain computer interface.
The basic principle is pretty simple: You have a laser diode and a detector that is 2-3 cm away from the diode. Unfortunately I have almost no experience with any of these electronic components so was wondering if I could get some guidance.

I've found the lasers here:
http://search.digikey.com/us/en/products/D8505I/38-1030-ND/287034

Now I need a detector which will basically measure how much light is bounced back out of the skull. I would like to sample this at somewhere around 100-500 Hz. It is important that there be as little noise and as much precision as possible. I was looking at using a "photodetector" (is that the right part?)
http://search.digikey.com/us/en/products/PNZ335/PNZ335-ND/274305

The photodetector would be wired to a fiberoptic cable that would be placed on the scalp a few cm away from the emitter. There would probably be 4-6 of these detector/emitter pairs.

A few key questions:
1) How do I couple the photodetector to the fiberoptic cable.
2) What sort of hardware would you recommend for connecting the photo detector to a computer and reading it in at ~100-500hz
3) Would it be possible to modulate the laser diode some how (i.e make it change power at a certain frequency).
4) Any general advice on how to go about building this or problems you think I might face.