Career Change- From Music to Math

In summary, Tyler Cutts has decided to switch his major from music to Mathematics Education with a minor in Physics. He has taken college level algebra, Euclidian geometry, and PreCalculus, and will be starting his first Calculus class in the Fall. Tyler is also considering teaching and has experience tutoring and observing teaching in the past. He is currently reviewing Trigonometry and Pre-Calculus and will soon start learning Calculus concepts. Some advice given to Tyler is to review Pre-Calculus before starting Calculus and to consider taking proof-based courses like real analysis. He is also considering majoring in Physics Education. However, it is noted that in the US, getting a pure or applied math degree is not sufficient to teach at a
TylerCutts
Hello Physics Forums-

My name is Tyler Cutts, and I am a student at the University of South Florida.

After some serious career and college thought, I have decided to change my major to Mathematics Education, which covers almost all of the content a Math major would take, as well as a minor in Physics.

My first year of school and prior training was in Music, specifically being classically trained in the clarinet and piano. However, I decided I was only recreationally interested in music, but didn't have enough professional interest to carry on in music as a career.

I have taken college level algebra as well as Euclidian geometry and PreCalculus. I take my first Calculus class in the Fall (AP Calculus was not offered to me in high school). Do any of you have advice on the rigors of majoring in math, and what to expect?

Physics news on Phys.org
Good Choice!

Math is hard, but Calculus 1 is learnable for sure. Review Pre-Calculus yourself before the semester begins when you study Calculus 1. If you did very, very well in Pre-Calculus, then try to study the early parts of Calculus 1 before the semester starts.