Easier to get programmer or engineer jobs with Physics/Math BS?

In summary, the individual graduated with BS degrees in Physics and Applied Math, but took a leave of absence from their Physics PhD program. They are now looking for jobs, and have had a few interviews for engineering positions, but did not enjoy the hands-on work involved. They are considering applying for mechE-related jobs, but have also been studying programming on their own for the past few months. However, they have struggled with technical interview questions and are unsure if they are applying for the right jobs. They are wondering if they need more time to study before having a chance at programmer jobs, or if they have a better chance at engineering jobs that do not involve hands-on work.
e15
I graduated with BS degrees in Physics and Applied Math and I then enrolled in a Physics PhD program. However, I took a leave of absence and am now looking for jobs

I think I've only gotten a couple interviews for engineering positions, which were computer engineering/EE-related, but it seemed to involved lots of hands-on work, which I really hate since I always did poorly in my physics lab courses. For example, I hate doing the stuff that mechanics, machinists, and welders do

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to apply for jobs. I am obviously not a typical applicant for engineering or programming jobs. I've took a few mechE courses in undergrad, in heat transfer and fluid mechanics. Should I just forget about trying to get mechE-related jobs involving modeling/simulation (such as FEA, CFD)?