Is there always at least one irrational number between any two rational numbers?

In summary, the conversation is about proving that there is at least one irrational number between any two rational numbers in an interval. The first attempt at a proof involved assuming the result and using circular reasoning. The second attempt involved using 1/root2 as an irrational number, but it was pointed out that it may not lie within the given subinterval. The final attempt used the Archimedean property to show that there must be an irrational number between any two rational numbers in an interval, and since there are an infinite amount of subintervals, there are also an infinite amount of irrational numbers.
JG89
and, consequently, infinitely many.

I am new to proofs so could you please check if this proof is correct?

Let x be an irrational number in the interval In = [an, bn], where an and bn are both rational numbers, in the form p/q.

Let z be the distance between x and an, So:

x - an = x - p1/q1
= x + (-p1/q1)

But an irrational number (in this case x) + a rational number is also an irrational number. Therefore distance from an to x, which is z, is irrational.

The distance from x to the origin, is an + z. But again, an irrational number plus a rational number is also irrational. Therefore, there is always at least one rational number between any two rational numbers. However, the same proof can be applied to an infinite amount of subintervals within In, therefore there is an infinite amount of irrational numbers as well.

Mathematics news on Phys.org

The first thing you did was to assume the result that you wanted to show. If you want to show that there is an irrational in an interval [a,b], then you can't assume there's one in there.