Bronchoconstriction in asthma

• Medical
  • Thread starter sprinkaan
  • Start date
In summary, the obstruction in asthma is more prominent during inspiration than expiration due to a combination of factors such as initial hyperventilation, small airway obstruction, and decreased elastic recoil. In addition, the effort of exhalation can lead to airway narrowing, making it more difficult to expel air. Factors such as air trapping and dynamic airway compression also contribute to this phenomenon.
sprinkaan
I'm confused.
As an asthmatic myself, I remember the feeling of not getting enough air into my lungs during attachs.

Now I'm studying the mechanisms and lung functions in asthma, and I repeatedly come across "expiratory obstruction" and "expirational wheeze" and "outflow obstruction".

My question is:
if your airways are hyperresponsive and/or hypersensitive and you have bronchoconstriction (either in atopic or non-atopic asthma) then why is the obstruction more on inspiration than expiration.
My mind just can't get around it.
If you have a narrowed airway, surely air should struggle as much getting in as getting out...??

Thank you for helping!

Biology news on Phys.org
sprinkaan said:
I'm confused.

if your airways are hyperresponsive and/or hypersensitive and you have bronchoconstriction (either in atopic or non-atopic asthma) then why is the obstruction more on inspiration than expiration.
My mind just can't get around it.
If you have a narrowed airway, surely air should struggle as much getting in as getting out...??

Thank you for helping!