Galilean invariance verification (kinetic energy and momentum)

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem with verifying the Galilean invariance of the relationship between kinetic energy and momentum. The solution is shown to be incorrect, and the correct solution is provided, showing that the relationship does hold in both frames. The person is grateful for the explanation.
Tiddo
Hi all,

First of all, sorry for not using the template, but I think in this situation it's better to explain my problem right away:
I'm studying for a physics test, but I think I don't really understand Galilean invariance. In my textbook there is an example in which they proof that if you consider 2 frames S and S' in standard configuration that the second law of Newton is Galilean invariant by proofing that if [itex]x' = x - Vt[/itex] than [itex]F_x = F'_x[/itex], so this law holds in both frames. So far I understand this.

However, in the book there is one assignment in which they ask me to verify that the relationship between kinetic energy and momentum, [itex]E = p^2/2m[/itex], is Galilean invariant. I couldn't really figure it out by myself so I looked at the answers. The answer is as followed:
In S:

[itex]E = \frac{1}{2}m\dot{x}^2;[/itex] [itex]p=m\dot{x}.[/itex]

Substitute [itex]\dot{x} = p/m[/itex] in the equation for the energy:

[itex]E = \frac{1}{2}m(\frac{p}{m})^2=p^2/2m[/itex]

In S':

[itex]E'=\frac{1}{2}m\dot{x}'^2-\frac{1}{2}m(\dot{x}-V)^2=\frac{1}{2}m\dot{x}^2-m\dot{x}V^2[/itex]

[itex]p'=m\dot{x}'[/itex]

Assume the relationship holds: i.e.,

[itex]E'=\frac{p'^2}{2m}=\frac{1}{2m}(m\dot{x}-mV)^2=\frac{1}{2}(\dot{x}^2-2\dot{x}V+V^2)=\frac{1}{2}m\dot{x}-m\dot{x}V+\frac{1}{2}mV^2,[/itex]

in agreement with the Galilean transformation of the kinetic energy
Source: McComb, W. D., 1999. Dynamics and Relativity. New York: Oxford University Press Inc.