Choosing a material for a mill handle

In summary, A student from an ECE background joined an ME team to gain more mechanical experience and was assigned a smaller project to make a mill handle. They are unsure of how to choose a material and are considering plastic or aluminum. Factors such as load, weight, function, and exposure to heat and solvents must be considered. The handle will be made using a lathe and fastened with screws. More information, such as a dimensioned sketch and location of applied load, is needed to determine the appropriate material and cross sections. As a last resort, a household scale can be used to measure the load applied to the mill handle.
Bob Busby
Hello. MechE noob here. I'm an ECE guy and I'm apart of a group of students working on a solar car. I decided I wanted to get more mechanical experience so I joined one of the ME teams. However, before they let you work on real stuff they make you go through smaller projects.

So my first smaller project was to make a mill handle to replace a broken one. I designed it in Solidworks. It is extremely simple, just two cylinders connected to each other with the radius of one much smaller so it can fit into a circular slot.

My question is how to choose a material. I haven't the slightest idea what factors are at play here and how to go about deciding. I figure it will be plastic or aluminium but that's all I've got.

Can I have some guidance as to how to go about this? Any help would be appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
How much load does it have to bear? Does it have to be light? Aesthetic or functional?

How are you planning on making it? Machine it from rod stock? Mild steel is often a starting point. Or stainless steel.

Plastic is an interesting choice. How will you get the right shape for a one-off plastic component? 3D-printing?

Will it be exposed to hot objects, even accidentally? Or solvents? Then plastic might be a bad option.