Hydroelectric Dam: Energy Transformations

In summary, to generate electricity from a hydroelectric dam, the gravitational potential energy of water is transformed into kinetic energy which turns a turbine, creating rotational kinetic energy. This rotational energy is then converted into electric energy through the use of magnets and coils. However, some of this energy is also used to keep the coil rotating, resulting in energy losses. In order to start the generator, batteries are used to supply the initial electric power needed to create a magnetic field.
cj
I'm a teacher. I need to teach this subject to a group of smart 9th grade students that I am prepping to begin a "Green Physics" project.

What are the energy transformations associated with a hydroelectic dam? I think I have it up to a certain point, and then I'm less than sure. Here's what I have so far:

1) Gravitational potential energy of water is transformed into kinetic energy of water.

2) Kinetic energy of water is transformed into rotational kinetic energy of a turbine.

3) Rotational kinetic energy of a turbine is transformed into magnetic field energy in an AC generator.

4) Magnetic field energy in an AC generator is transformed into electic field energy in an AC generator.

5) Electric field energy in an AC generator causes electrons to flow.

Where am I incorrect or incomplete? Thank you.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
cj said:
1) Gravitational potential energy of water is transformed into kinetic energy of water.

2) Kinetic energy of water is transformed into rotational kinetic energy of a turbine.

These two are OK.