How can I add an integer to a sorted array using binary search in Java?

In summary: They must have changed it in Java 5.0.And I agree with the ArrayList, Vector is a legacy class and should be avoided unless you are required to use it for some reason.Sorry, I've been doing C# exclusively for the past 6 months and i use primitives in generic collections all the time. They must have changed it in Java 5.0.And I agree with the ArrayList, Vector is a legacy class and should be avoided unless you are required to use it for some reason.In summary, the conversation discusses the need to write a method for adding an integer to a sorted array of integers. The code for searching an integer in the array is also provided. The individual is seeking help in writing the code to
pumas
Hello,

I need to write a method that adds an interger to a sorted array of integers. I'm using the following code to search for an interger in the array

private static int binarySearch(int[] list, int key,
int low, int high) {
while (low <= high) {
int mid = (low + high) / 2;
int midVal = list[mid];

if (midVal < key) {
low = mid + 1;
} else if (midVal > key) {
high = mid - 1;
} else {
return mid; // key found
}
}
return -(low + 1); // key not found.
}

I have not done programming in a long time, so I'm very confused on how to write the code to insert a number and preserved the sorted order.
I would appreciate any help

Technology news on Phys.org
You could search for the next largest number, store it in a temporary variable and:

1. Replace the number you just stored in the temp variable with the one you want to insert.
2. Use the temporary variable to shift the array down by one.

Eg:
for(i=maxval;i>x;i--) /*x is the position of the next largest number maxval is the largest index number of the array*/

{
arr[x-1]=arr[x];
}
arr=j; //j is the number you want to insert and i=x now