Add a delay to a 12V circuit

In summary: Yes, that would work - the switch would add just a 1 to 2 second delay before the buzzer would operate. It's more fail-safe and I doubt your insurance carrier would mind.
belias
Hello,

I'm looking for some help with a (hopefully) simple EE question regarding a DC circuit. I'm a chemical engineer and it's been a while since elec/mag physics for me :-) Here goes:

In my life outside engineering, I run a small ambulance service. Our ambulance has a rather annoying piezo buzzer that sounds any time the parking brake is in the "wrong" position (i.e. parking brake set and vehicle is in drive, or vice-versa). The problem is that it sounds every time the vehicle is shifted, since there's no delay (i.e. you'd have to simultaneously shift and adjust the parking brake to avoid the buzzer).

I'd like to add something to the circuit that adds about a 1 to 2 second delay before the buzzer sounds - however, the buzzer must turn OFF immediately when the voltage is removed. Ideally, I'm looking for something cheap and simple (as always)...

I seem to remember that inductors allow current flow in a time-dependent nature (i.e. ramp up from zero current) - am I on the right track?

Any help would be great!

P.S. The voltage is around 13.5 V DC, and I'd imagine the total current draw is < 200 mA. I have access to the buzzer (+13.5 and ground).

Thanks,

-Brian

Engineering news on Phys.org
I seem to remember that inductors allow current flow in a time-dependent nature (i.e. ramp up from zero current) - am I on the right track?
An inductor would not be practical because of the amount of time delay you want ( 1 to 2 seconds). How about a time delay relay such as this one: http://www.ics-timers.com/op4142.html