Physics books for a pure math student

In summary, this person wants to learn physics from scratch, and recommends books by applied mathematicians and those written by physicists.
Gingia
Hi all; firstly, I thank all of you who respond to my question in advance.

I'm a mathematics student with an advanced undergraduate background in most of what's associated with 'pure math', and my particular interest is in mathematical logic. I'd really like to teach myself physics - I have taken a year's worth of university physics and I did quite well; however, I feel as if I didn't really learn very much at all beyond how to manipulate particular formulas, as the course was generally populated by pre-med students and thus geared more towards rote memorization than understanding.

Unfortunately, I haven't the credit-space to take more advanced courses in physics, so I'm hoping I can teach myself some.

I would like some book recommendations - ideally I'd like to 'do over' the material I covered in my year of physics and start from scratch. So this means something that would constitute a 'first course in physics', except taught in a way that assumes a relatively strong (in undergraduate terms) mathematical background. After I get my way through this first material, then I'd like to approach modern physics, although I do have some of the requisite mathematical background in differential geometry, abstract algebra, etc.

What books would you recommend?

Thank you all very much.

Physics news on Phys.org
Take a look at vol. 1 (Mechanics) of Landau and Lifgarbagez's course in theoretical physics. They assume a reasonably high degree of mathematical sophistication, are rigorous, and provide beautiful insight into physics principles.

If you like it, subsequent volumes will take you as deeply into physics as you care to go.

Thanks very much!

After reading the first few pages of 'Mechanics' online, this series of books looks perfect. Thanks a lot!