Magnetic Force: Can vs 2L Bottle

• Thread starter remosmile
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Magnetic
In summary, if two magnets of the same size but different strengths are placed with their positive poles facing each other at a distance of one inch, the larger magnet with more magnetic dipoles will have a greater repulsive force.
remosmile
I am new to the field of magnetics and therefore my question will probably be elementary but here goes. If I have 2 neodymeum magnets both the size of a 12 0z can of coke and I place the cans positive pole to positive pole they will repel each other with a certain force and for argument sake say at 1 inch apart.
Question: If I were to take one of those can sized magnets and place its positive pole against the positive pole of another neodymium magnet the size of a 2 liter bottle at one inch distance apart would there be more repulsive force ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Assuming that the larger magnet has the same magnetization as its smaller counterpart, then yes, I'm fairly certain that there will be a greater repulsive force.

BTW, remember that magnetization is the number of magnetic dipoles per volume. So a larger magnet can be weaker, if it has fewer magnetic dipoles.

Yes, there would likely be more repulsive force between the larger neodymium magnet and the can-sized magnet compared to the two can-sized magnets. This is because the strength of a magnet's magnetic field is directly related to its size and strength. The larger magnet would have a stronger magnetic field, resulting in a greater repulsive force between the two magnets. Additionally, the distance between the two magnets also plays a role in the strength of the magnetic force, so the one-inch distance between the two magnets would also contribute to a stronger repulsive force. However, the exact magnitude of the repulsive force would depend on the specific properties and alignments of the magnets.

1. What is magnetic force?