Spivak as first exposure to Calculus?

In summary, the conversation discusses the feasibility of using Spivak's book as an introduction to calculus for someone in Pre-Calculus. The speaker also asks for recommendations for other books and shares their own experience with self-studying calculus. They also mention the difficulty of Spivak's book and the importance of having a strong foundation in math before attempting it. Multiple book recommendations are given, and the benefits and drawbacks of using Spivak's book as a first exposure to calculus are discussed.
Helical
Next year I'm going to begin studying physics as freshman and this summer I was thinking about studying Calculus on my own. Would Spivak be feasible as an introduction to calculus? I'm in Pre-Calculus right now and find it pretty easy (though I know that is not necessarily any indicator of calculus ability).

I want to study Spivak because I want to see the more theoretical side of math, something I have no experience with. If it's not really feasible though, what book would you recommend, something like Stewart? The university I'm going to next year uses Hughes-Hallet...the reviews on Amazon.com basically say it's one of the worst calculus textbooks; another reason I feel like studying over the summer is a good idea.

Physics news on Phys.org
Get a copy at your favorite library and see for yourself.

Note: This is real advice, not just me being sarcastic.

Helical said:
Next year I'm going to begin studying physics as freshman and this summer I was thinking about studying Calculus on my own. Would Spivak be feasible as an introduction to calculus? I'm in Pre-Calculus right now and find it pretty easy (though I know that is not necessarily any indicator of calculus ability).