Conflict of interest: the bad is always there?

• Thread starter Spirit
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Interest
In summary: No, it is not considered as a conflict of interest because it is a change of office, not a promotion. Thanks for your help.
Spirit
Hey all,

So I'm relatively new to the professional life. The question of "conflict of interest" is bothering me a lot lately as I'm not sure about how the words are defined, and which kind of interest is looked down upon. For example, I was thinking about this case, which I observe in many different ways around:

Let's say for example someone did find a potentially excellent partner for the place they work for to work with on some projects. However, they are also interested in benefiting the other company, and may not mind if they got friendships/linking with them for their long-term career. Would that be considered a conflict of interest

It is definitely a win-win for both parties, but it can be seen as a 'personal' deal for the person too, as they want to know more people, try to expand their career ..etc.

Also, if someone knows a good resource with comprehensive examples on what is and what is not a conflict of interest, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance for help!

Spirit

Physics news on Phys.org
Spirit said:
Let's say for example someone did find a potentially excellent partner for the place they work for to work with on some projects. However, they are also interested in benefiting the other company, and may not mind if they got friendships/linking with them for their long-term career. Would that be considered a conflict of interest