Preliminary knowledge on tensor analysis

In summary, the conversation discusses the definition and properties of tensors, particularly in the context of tensor analysis and differential geometry. The conversation also touches on the distinction between the metric tensor and the Ricci tensor, and the importance of the metric tensor in defining inner products and distances on a manifold. The book recommendations for further understanding are "Introduction to Smooth Manifolds" by John M. Lee and "A Comprehensive Introduction to Differential Geometry, vol. 1" by Michael Spivak.
ChrisVer
Gold Member
I am not sure whether this needs to be transported in another topic (as academic guidance). I have some preliminary knowledge on tensor analysis, which helps me being more confident with indices notation etc... Also I'm accustomed to the definition of tensors, which tells us that a tensor is an object which has a given transformation law... Like a tensor of rank [itex](n,k)[/itex] transforms under a coordinate transformation (diffeomorphism) [itex]\phi^{a}(x^b)[/itex] as:
[itex] (T')^{a_{1}...a_{n}}_{b_{1}...b_{k}}= \frac{\partial \phi^{a_{1}}}{\partial x^{w_{1}}}...\frac{\partial \phi^{a_{n}}}{\partial x^{w_{n}}} \frac{\partial x^{r_{1}}}{\partial \phi^{b_{1}}}...\frac{\partial x^{r_{k}}}{\partial \phi^{b_{k}}} (T)^{w_{1}...w_{n}}_{r_{1}...r_{k}}[/itex]

However, a tensor is not only defined as such... I learned that a (n,k) tensor can also be a mapping... In particular it takes vectors from a vector space (n times) and its dual (k times) and maps them to the real numbers:
[itex]T: V \otimes V \otimes ... \otimes V \otimes V^{*}\otimes ... \otimes V^{*} \rightarrow R [/itex]
so in that case instead of indices one can use arguments of the corresponding vectors in V...
eg the metric is a tensor [itex]g: V \otimes V \rightarrow R[/itex] which gets translated to [itex]g_{ab}x^{a}x^{b}= g(x^{a},x^{b})= ds^{2}[/itex]