Analytical Methods of Finding Stress Concentrations

In summary, stress concentrations are localized areas of high stress in a material that can lead to premature failure. Common analytical methods used to find stress concentrations include stress concentration factors, finite element analysis, and analytical equations. Stress concentration factors help quantify the severity of the concentration and its effect on stress. However, analytical methods have limitations in predicting complex geometries and non-linear materials, and can be improved by using advanced equations and validation with experimental results.
osnarf
Hi everyone,

I'm an undergraduate student. A professor just signed me up to do a research project (my first) this semester, and I need to be able to apply elasticity to analytically find stress concentration factors in a specific geometry (I'll pm you if it matters which geometry) that the professor assigned as a project to me. I don't have any experience with the theory of elasticity, although I've taken an engineering undergraduate mechanics of materials course so I have some basic knowledge (but nothing on calculating stress concentration factors, just using them).

I have bought, borrowed from the professor, and checked out from the library a bunch of books on elasticity and advanced mechanics of materials that I'm going to start working through, but what concerns me is they don't really say explicitly what you'll be able to accomplish with them and the table of contents looks like gibberish to me since I'm not really familiar with the terminology. As far as I can tell, none of the tables of contents specifically mention finding stress concentration factors in arbitrary shapes; the chapters mostly seem to concentrate on a specific geometry.