How hazardous is semiconductor etching?

In summary, many new semiconductor process engineers are concerned about the possible failure of safety devices. If you don't see these devices in place, don't process until they are addressed.
lifeson22
Many of you may be annoyed by my question. I'm sorry in advance.

I've just finished my M.S. in Materials Science & Engineering, and have gotten an offer as a Semiconductor Process Engineer. The specialty is lithography and wet chemistry - including wet etching.

As an MSE student I learned to be horrified with Hydrofluoric Acid. I'm not a fan of other strong acids, but HF terrifies me. I imagine that I might be mixing acids, and some HF gets on my skin, or I breath it in. Or I might be dipping a wafer in an HF bath and splash some on me.

I know, there are safety procedures - splash goggles, protective clothing, respirator, etc. But I always make room for the one time I have an oversight, or when the gloves have a small cut, or the respirator isn't working right.

I'll be honest - I don't know very well how the etching is done, mostly because I've never seen it done. I don't know if specialized machines handle the acid for you, so that you're not directly exposed to it.

Am I worrying unnecessarily? How hazardous is etching engineering? Can some of you tell me how the whole process works - do you mix the acids manually, and dip the wafer manually during the R & D efforts? Or do machines handle the acid part for you?

One day I'll look at comments like this and, just like you, probably be very annoyed. But, as a pure newbie, I would love some kind answers. Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org