Difference between partical shear stress and boundary shear stress

In summary, Boneh3ad explains that the boundary layer is a layer of water that separates the fluid (water) from the solid (sand, gravel, etc). The boundary layer exists because water obeys the no slip boundary condition. The shear stress (traction) exerted on the solid by the fluid is greater than a critical shear stress determined by the particle's size and density. The critical shear is the shear stress at which the flow rate increases so much that the tractive shear exceeds the shear imposed by the particle. The appropriate values for shear are built into the semi-empirical Shields equation.
db725
Hi all,

I am currently studying civil hydraulics in my civil engineering course and we are going through estimating critical shear stresses for sediments. I am confused about the difference between boundary shear stress and particle shear stress. In terms of estimating critical shear stress, is there a difference between using particle shear stress and using boundary shear stress?

How would our results differ by choosing boundary/particle shear stress to begin with?

Thanks everyone in advance!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I assume you are studying open channel flow, which is generally turbulent, except in the boundary layer.
This is reflected in an additional term in the viscosity - shear relationship
The total transport in any fluid is given by the sum of the molecular transport and the turbulent trnasport.

Measuring y from the bottom up with y' the thickness of the boundary layer

For turbulent flow the general equations are

momentum transfer

[tex]{\tau _{xy}} = \rho (\upsilon + \varepsilon )\frac{{\partial \overline v }}{{\partial y}}[/tex]

mass transfer

[tex]w = - \left( {D + {E_m}} \right)\frac{{\partial \overline c }}{{\partial y}}[/tex]

Heat transfer

[tex]q = - \rho {C_p}\left( {\alpha + {E_h}} \right)\frac{{\partial \overline \theta }}{{\partial y}}[/tex]

leading to