Basic Linear Algebra Proof

B^*A^*In summary, the statement being proved is that for every n × n complex matrices A and B, the conjugate of the product of A and B multiplied by a scalar α is equal to the product of the conjugate of B and the conjugate of A multiplied by the conjugate of α. The attempt at a solution involves using two "test" matrices and proving that they swap in this manner. The proof involves using the fact that the transpose of a matrix is equal to its conjugate, and then rearranging the terms to show that the conjugation property holds.
DanielFaraday

Homework Statement

Prove the following:

For every n × n complex matrices A and B, [tex](\alpha AB)^*=\bar{\alpha }B^*A^*[/tex].

Homework Equations

None

The Attempt at a Solution

Okay, I'm just getting started on this problem. All the ideas I have come up with so far involve using two "test" matrices. The problem with this is that it doesn't prove it for any n × n matrix. Does this matter?

Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, start small. Can you prove [tex]
(\alpha A)^*=\bar{\alpha }A^*
[/tex]

If you can, then you can just focus on proving that A and B swap like that

Hmm...

This feels like trying to prove 1+1=2. It just is! I'm still working on it...

Do you think this is a sufficient proof?

[tex]
(\alpha AB)^*=\bar{\alpha }\overline{AB}=\bar{\alpha }\left(\bar{A}\right)\left(\bar{B}\right)=\bar{\alpha }\left(\left(\bar{A}\right)^T\right)^T\left(\left(\bar{B}\right)^T\right)^T=\bar{\alpha }\left(A^*\right)^T\left(B^*\right)^T=\bar{\alpha }\left(B^*A^*\right)^T
[/tex]

1. What is Basic Linear Algebra Proof?

Basic Linear Algebra Proof is a mathematical method used to prove theorems and propositions in linear algebra. It involves using logical reasoning and mathematical properties to demonstrate the validity of a statement.

2. What are the key components of a Basic Linear Algebra Proof?